BIRCH RUN TOWNSHIP BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING DECEMBER 10, 2019



Supervisor Ray Letterman called the December Regular Meeting of the Birch Run Township Board to order at 7:00 p.m. Also present for the board were; Corey Trinklein, Clerk; Karen Parlberg, Treasurer; Pam Moore, Kurt Kiessling, Fred Sheridan & Brady Totten (arrived at 7:08pm), Trustees. Approximately 5 people were in the audience. Others present were Brad Thomas, DPW/Water Supervisor; Dave Matzke, Fire Chief; and Jeanette Morrish, Library Director.

PASSED: Motion by Sheridan seconded by Kiessling to approve the December 10, 2019 Agenda as presented. Yeas: Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Trinklein Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Kiessling seconded by Moore to approve the November 12, 2019 Regular Meeting Minutes as amended.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Trinklein, Moore Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Sheridan seconded by Moore to approve the November 19, 2019 Special Meeting Minutes as presented.

Yeas: Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Trinklein, Moore, Kiessling Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Kiessling seconded by Sheridan to approve Invoices through December 5, 2019 totaling \$220,907.26 as presented.

Yeas: Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein, Moore, Kiessling, Letterman Nays: None

PUBLIC COMMENT: 7:08 p.m. to 7:08 p.m. No Public Comments

FAILED: Motion by Totten seconded by Sheridan to approve Ordinance #2019-09 (Outdoor Entertainment) as presented.

Yeas: None

Nays: Totten, Trinklein, Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan

PASSED: Motion by Totten seconded by Sheridan to approve Resolution #2019-17 (Standard Lighting Contract) as presented. Yeas: Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein

Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Trinklein to approve re-appointing Helen Morse to the Planning Commission for a 3-year term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein, Moore Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Totten to approve appointing Riley Kiessling to the Planning Commission to fulfill the current vacancy set to expire 12/31/2020. Yeas: Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein, Moore Nays: None Abstain: Kiessling

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Sheridan to approve appointing Keith Jewel to the Planning Commission for a 3-year term. Yeas: Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein, Moore, Kiessling, Letterman Nays: None PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Sheridan to approve re-appointing Dale Trinklein Jr. to the Zoning Board of Appeals for a 3-year term. Yeas: Sheridan, Totten, Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg Nays: None Abstain: Trinklein

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Totten to approve re-appointing Steve Schaar to the Zoning Board of Appeals to fulfill the current vacancy set to expire 12/31/2020. Yeas: Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein Nays: Parlberg, Sheridan

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Sheridan to approve re-appointing Don Morse to the Downtown Development Authority for a 4-year term. Yeas: Totten, Trinklein, Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Totten to approve re-appointing Paul Glanz to the Downtown Development Authority for a 4-year term. Yeas: Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Moore to approve re-appointing the Representative of an Engineering Firm to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term. Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein, Moore Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Moore to approve re-appointing the Thomas A. Gerken to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term. Yeas: Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein, Moore, Kiessling Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Totten to approve re-appointing the Mark A. Latch to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term. Yeas: Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein, Moore, Kiessling, Letterman

Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Sheridan to approve re-appointing the Patrick Peterson to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term. Yeas: Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein, Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Moore to approve re-appointing the Ronald Wheatley to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term. Yeas: Totten, Trinklein, Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Sheridan to approve re-appointing the Samuel Placher to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term. Yeas: Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Sheridan seconded by Trinklein to approve continuing with our current auditing firm, Gardner Provenzano, Thomas & Luplow for another three years as presented. Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein, Moore Nays: None PASSED: Motion by Sheridan seconded by Totten to approve the Administrative Resolutions as amended. Yeas: Totten, Trinklein, Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan Nays: None

PUBLIC COMMENT: 8:22 p.m. to 8:33 p.m.

Mike Marr – Consumers Energy street lighting questions.

Riley Kiessling – Thanked the Supervisor for appointing him to the Planning Commission and thanked the rest of the board for supporting the appointment.

Mike Braun – Knows there was an update regarding the sound study at a previous meeting and wondered how that information was going to be used.

PASSED: Motion by Letterman seconded by Sheridan to adjourn at 8:34 p.m. Yeas: Moore, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, Totten, Trinklein Nays: None

Corey Trinklein, Clerk Birch Run Township

Approved: January 14, 2020