BIRCH RUN TOWNSHIP BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING DECEMBER 8, 2020



Ray Letterman, Supervisor called the November 10 December 8, 2020 Regular Meeting of the Birch Run Township Board to order at 7:00 p.m. Also present for the board were Corey Trinklein, Clerk; Karen Parlberg, Treasurer; Fred Sheridan, Kurt Kiessling & Dale Trinklein Jr, Trustees. There were 3 people in the audience. Others present were Dave Matzke, Fire Chief and Jeanette Morrish, Library Director. Chris Watts, Trustee was absent.

PASSED: Motion by Sheridan seconded by D. Trinklein Jr to approve the December 8, 2020 Agenda as presented.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein

Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Kiessling seconded by Sheridan to approve the November 10, 2020 Regular Meeting Minutes as presented.

Yeas: Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, C. Trinklein, Kiessling

Nays: None

Abstain: D. Trinklein Jr

PASSED: Motion by D. Trinklein Jr seconded by Sheridan to approve the November 25, 2020 Special Meeting Minutes as presented.

Yeas: Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein, Kiessling, Letterman

Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Sheridan seconded by D. Trinklein Jr to approve Invoices through December 2, 2020 totaling \$103,300.73 as presented.

Yeas: Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg

Navs: None

PUBLIC COMMENT: 7:03 p.m. to 7:03 p.m.

No Public Comments

Jerry Preston of the Birch Run Bridgeport CVB gave a presentation regarding the possibility of a convention and exhibit center in Birch Run Township

PASSED: Motion by Sheridan seconded by Kiessling to approve Resolution #2020-14 (Insurance Opting Out of Senate Bill 7) as presented.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein

Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by C. Trinklein seconded by D. Trinklein Jr to approve the Burnham & Flower Health Insurance Plan Simply Blue HSA Gold \$2800 - 0%; with the Township paying 80% of the health insurance premium.

Yeas: Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein, Kiessling

Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by Trinklein seconded by Sheridan to approve setting the 2021 HSA employer contribution to \$2,015.00 for an individual and \$4,030.00 for family.

Yeas: Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein, Kiessling, Letterman

Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by C. Trinklein seconded by Sheridan to approve setting the "in lieu of" payment for employee health insurance opt-out to \$2,015.

Yeas: Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg

Nays: None

FAILED: Motion by Sheridan seconded by Parlberg to approve Resolution #2020-15 (COVID-19 Employment Policy) as presented.

Yeas: None

Nays: D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan

PASSED: Motion by C. Trinklein seconded by D. Trinklein Jr to approve using election grant money towards \$50.00 in hazard pay for the November 2020 election workers that had contact with the public for a total cost of \$1,000.00.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein

Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by C. Trinklein seconded by Letterman to approve reappointing C.J. Norris and Riley Kiessling to the Planning Commission for 3-year terms.

Yeas: Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein

Nays: None Abstain: Kiessling

PASSED: Motion by C. Trinklein seconded by Letterman to approve reappointing Fred Sheridan as the Township Board Representative to the Planning Commission for a 4-year term.

Yeas: Parlberg, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein, Kiessling, Letterman

Nays: None Abstain: Sheridan

PASSED: Motion by C. Trinklein seconded by Sheridan to approve reappointing Steve Schaar and appointing Brady Totten to the Zoning Board of Appeals for 3-year terms.

Yeas: Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg

Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by C. Trinklein seconded by Kiessling to approve appointing Dale Trinklein Jr as the Township Board Representative to the Zoning Board of Appeals for a 4-year term.

Yeas: C. Trinklein, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan

Nays: None

Abstain: D. Trinklein Jr

PASSED: Motion by C. Trinklein seconded by D. Trinklein Jr to approve reappointing Ken Kern, Deland Pickelmann, Yvonne Cherry and alternate Heidi Martinus to the Board of Review for 2-year terms.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein

Nays: None

PASSED: Motion by C. Trinklein seconded by D. Trinklein Jr to approve reappointing Ray Letterman as the Township Board Representative and appointing Kurt Kiessling to the Downtown Development Authority Board for 4-year terms.

Yeas: Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein

Nays: None Abstain: Kiessling

PASSED: Motion by C. Trinklein seconded by Sheridan to approve the Administrative Resolutions as amended.

Yeas: Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein, Kiessling, Letterman

Navs: None

PUBLIC COMMENT: 8:08 p.m. to 8:10 p.m.

No Public Comments

PASSED: Motion by D. Trinklein Jr seconded by Sheridan to adjourn at 8:11 p.m. Yeas: Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, C. Trinklein, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg

Nays: None

Corey Trinklein Birch Run Township Clerk Approved: January 12, 2021