

Birch Run Township Board of Trustees Regular Meeting Minutes December 14, 2021 Silver Creek Prive Pinch Pun Misking 4841

11935 Silver Creek Drive, Birch Run, Michigan 48415

Call to Order of Regular Meeting:

Supervisor Letterman called the December 14, 2021 Regular Meeting of the Birch Run Township Board of Trustees to order at 7:00 p.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance. Present for the Township Board of Trustees were Ray Letterman, Supervisor; Karen Parlberg, Treasurer; Fred Sheridan, Kurt Kiessling, Dale Trinklein Jr & Chris Watts, Trustees. Corey Trinklein, Clerk was absent.

Others present were Brad Thomas, DPW/Water Supervisor; Dave Matzke, Fire Chief and Jeanette Morrish, Library Director. Approximately five (5) people were in the audience.

Agenda Approval:

Motion by Kiessling seconded by Sheridan to approve the December 14, 2021 Regular Meeting Agenda as amended.

Yeas: Watts, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Minutes Approval:

Motion by Sheridan seconded by D. Trinklein Jr to approve the November 9, 2021 Regular Meeting Minutes as presented.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Invoice Approval:

Postponed invoice approval until January 2022 board meeting.

Public Comment: 7:02 p.m. to 7:03 p.m.

No public comments

New Business:

Motion by Kiessling seconded by Sheridan to approve Property & Casualty Insurance renewal from Burnham & Flower as presented at an annual cost of \$27,696.25.

Yeas: Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts, Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Sheridan seconded by D. Trinklein Jr to approve Blue Cross Blue Shield Simply Blue HSA PPO Gold 2800 Health Insurance Renewal with the Township paying 80% of the premium, and the employee paying 20% of the premium, for a total cost of \$38,554.92 as presented.

Yeas: Watts, Kiessling, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Letterman

Navs: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Sheridan seconded by Watts to approve appointing Mike Marr to the Planning Commission for a 3-year term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Sheridan seconded by Watts to approve appointing Mike Musial to the Planning Commission to fill in the remaining term of Helen Morse, expiring 12/31/2022.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Navs: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Sheridan seconded by Watts to approve appointing Ed Munson to the Planning Commission for a 3-vear term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Watts seconded by Sheridan to approve appointing Mike Marr as Planning Commission

Representative to the Zoning Board of Appeals for a 3-year term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Watts seconded by Sheridan to approve appointing Jim Totten to the Birch Run Township DDA Board for a 4-year term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Watts seconded by Sheridan to approve appointing Kurt Kendziorski to the Birch Run Township DDA Board for a 4-year term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Navs: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Watts seconded by Sheridan to approve appointing Robby Johnson to the Birch Run Township DDA Board to fill the remaining vacant term, expiring 12/31/2022.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Watts seconded by Sheridan to approve appointing Brady Totten to the Birch Run Township DDA Board to fill the remaining vacant term, expiring 12/31/2024.

Yeas: Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Navs: None

Abstain: Kiessling

Motion passed by majority roll call vote

Motion by Watts seconded by Sheridan to approve appointing Representative of Engineering Firm to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Watts seconded by Sheridan to approve appointing Thomas Gerken to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Navs: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Watts seconded by Sheridan to approve appointing Mark Latch to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Watts seconded by Sheridan to approve appointing Darrin Jerome to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Watts seconded by Letterman to approve appointing Ronald Wheatley to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Watts seconded by Sheridan to approve appointing Samuel Placher to the Construction Board of Appeals for a 2-year term.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by D. Trinklein Jr seconded by Kiessling to approve setting the 2022 HSA employer contribution amount at \$2,500 per individual plan and \$5,000 per family plan.

Yeas: Kiessling, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: Letterman

Motion passed by majority roll call vote

Motion by Sheridan seconded by Watts to approve setting the 2022 employee insurance opt-out at \$2500.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Sheridan seconded by Kiessling to approve Resolution 2021-15 (Opt-out of Insurance per Senate Bill 7).

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Navs: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Sheridan seconded by D. Trinklein Jr to approve Resolution 2021-16 (P.C. to hold public hearing for Master Plan) the Township Board hereby authorizes the draft Birch Run Township Master Plan for public hearing by the Planning Commission on or after March 21^{st,} 2022, and that the notices required under the Michigan Planning Enabling Act be sent and published; and for the Township Board to have final approval.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr, Watts

Nays: None

Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote

Motion by Sheridan seconded by Kiessling to adopt Ordinance 2021-02 (Birch Run Township Caregiver Marihuana Permit Moratorium) as presented.

Yeas: Kiessling, Letterman, Parlberg, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr

Nays: None Abstain: Watts

Motion passed by majority roll call vote

Public Comment: 9:03 p.m. to 9:04 p.m.

Scott Dianda suggested meeting with our senator, state representative and regional MDOT representative might provide more success in addressing the problem intersection/corridor within the Township.

Adjournment:

Motion by Sheridan seconded by Kiessling to adjourn at 9:05 p.m. Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully Submitted by: Karen Parlberg 12-15-2021

Corey Trinklein, Clerk
Birch Run Township

Approved: January 11, 2022