BIRCH RUN TOWNSHIP SAGINAW COUNTY, MICHIGAN RESOLUTION #2023-12

RESOLUTION TO ESTABLISH THE SAGINAW COUNTY VOTE CENTER AS AN EARLY VOTING SITE FOR ALL ELECTIONS HELD WITHIN BIRCH RUN TOWNSHIP'S JURISDICTION

At a Regular Meeting of the Township Board of Birch Run Township, Saginaw County, Michigan, held at the Birch Run Township Government Room, 11935 Silver Creek Dr, in said Township, on September 12th at 19:00.

Members Present: K. Kiessling, Letterman, Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, C. Trinklein Members Absent: Watts,

The following preamble and resolution were offered by Riley Kiessling and supported by Corey Trinklein.

WHEREAS, the Birch Run Township Clerk is responsible for administering early voting in this municipality, pursuant to MI Constitution Sec. 4 and Public Act 81 (2023); and,

WHEREAS, the Saginaw County Early Vote Center is centrally located within the County, and fulfills additional security requirements of being a public building and its proximity to law enforcement,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT, Birch Run Township shall partner with Saginaw County to conduct the constitutionally mandated early voting for all future elections beginning with the 2024 Presidential Primary; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, the sole early voting site for Birch Run Township voters shall be the Saginaw County Early Vote Center, located at the Saginaw County Governmental Center Complex, 618 Cass St, Saginaw, MI 48602; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, the hours of operation of the early voting site shall be 9 am to 5 pm daily, from the first Saturday of the required nine days to the second Sunday with one exception, the first Wednesday of the required nine days will run 11 am to 7 pm; and,

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED THAT the Clerk is authorized to expend necessary funds budgeted to ensure Birch Run Township can cover their shared costs in utilizing the Saginaw County Early Vote Center.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

YES: Sheridan, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, C. Trinklein, K. Kiessling, Letterman,

NO: None ABSENT: Watts, ABSTAIN: None

RESOLUTION DECLARED ADOPTED

Riley Kiessling, Clerk