

### Birch Run Township Board of Trustees Regular Meeting Minutes

December 10<sup>th</sup>, 2024 11935 Silver Creek Drive, Birch Run, Michigan 48415

# Call to Order of Regular Meeting:

Supervisor Ray Letterman called the December 10<sup>th</sup>, 2024, Regular Meeting of the Birch Run Township Board of Trustees to order at 19:00 with the Pledge of Allegiance. Present for the Township Board of Trustees were Ray Letterman, Supervisor; Riley Kiessling, Clerk; Annette Letterman, Treasurer; John Diberardino, Kurt Kiessling, Dale Trinklein Jr. & Jeanie Herrick, Trustees.

Others present were Dave Matzke, Fire Chief; Jeanette Morrish, Library Director; Brad Thomas, DPW & Water Supervisor; Gretchen Nielsen, ZACE; Mike Marr, PC Vice-Chair.

Ten (10) people were in the audience.

#### Agenda Approval:

Motion by K. Kiessling seconded by D. Trinklein Jr. to approve the December 10<sup>th</sup>, 2024, Regular Meeting Agenda as presented. Yeas: D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, R. Letterman, DiBerardino, Nays: None Absent: None Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

#### Minutes Approval:

Motion by D. Trinklein Jr. seconded by DiBerardino to approve the November 12<sup>th</sup>, 2024, Regular Meeting Minutes as presented. Yeas: R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr.,

Nays: None Absent: None

Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

### Invoice Approval:

Motion by K. Kiessling seconded by D. Trinklein Jr. to approve Invoices through November 30<sup>th</sup>, 2024, totaling \$137,004.84 as presented.

Yeas: A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, Nays: None

Absent: None

Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

**<u>Public Comment</u>**: 19:0 to 19:04

Public Comment was held.

Public Hearing(s): None

Budget Review: None

# <u>Old Business:</u>

Evergreen Drive Streetlighting Update Clerk Kiessling provided an update on the streetlighting project.

#### New Business/Motions:

Riley Letterman gave a presentation for the Youth Ambassador Program to the Township Board.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by K. Kiessling to approve the Blue Cross Blue Shield Simply Blue HSA PPO Gold 3300 (Option 3) Health Insurance Renewal with the Township paying 80% of the premium, and the employee paying 20% of the premium, for a total annual cost of \$60,107.52 as presented. Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None Absent: None Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R, Kiessling seconded by K. Kiessling to approve Resolution #2024-18 (Insurance Opt-Out per Senate Bill 7) as presented.

Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None

Absent: None

Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by K. Kiessling to set the 2025 HSA Employer Contribution amount at \$3300 for individual plans and \$6600 for family plans.

Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None

Absent: None

Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by K. Kiessling to set the 2025 Employee Insurance Opt-Out amount at \$3300.

Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None

Absent: None

Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R. Letterman seconded by R. Kiessling to appoint Mike Marr to the Planning Commission for a 3 yr. term. Yeas: Herrick, K. Kiessling, R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman,

Nays: None

Absent: None

Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R. Letterman seconded by D. Trinklein Jr. to appoint Ed Munson to the Planning Commission for a 3-year term. Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None Absent: None Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote. Motion by R. Letterman seconded by D. Trinklein Jr. to appoint John DiBerardino to the Planning Commission for a 4-year term as the Township Board Representative. Yeas: DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, R. Letterman, Nays: None Absent: None Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by K. Kiessling to appoint Dale Trinklein Jr. to the Zoning Board of Appeals for a 4-year term as the Township Board Representative. Yeas: R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, R. Letterman, DiBerardino, Nays: None Abstentions: D. Trinklein Jr. Absent: None Motion PASSED by majority roll call vote.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by D. Trinklein Jr. to appoint Mike Marr to the Zoning Board of Appeals for a 3-year term as the Planning Commission Representative. Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None Absent: None Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by DiBerardino to appoint Ken Kern to the Board of Review for a 2year term. Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None Absent: None Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by K. Kiessling to appoint Deland Pickelmann to the Board of Review for a 2-year term. Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None Absent: None Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by D. Trinklein Jr. to appoint Yvonne Cherry to the Board of Review for a 2-year term. Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None Absent: None Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by D. Trinklein Jr. to appoint Heidi Martinus as an alternate to the Board of Review for a 2-year term. Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None Absent: None Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by DiBerardino to appoint Kurt Kiessling to the DDA Board for a 4-year term as the Township Board Rep.

Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, Nays: None Abstentions: K. Kiessling Absent: None Motion PASSED by majority roll call vote.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by K. Kiessling to appoint Ray Letterman to the DDA Board for a 4-year term. Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None

Absent: None

Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by DiBerardino to appoint Brady Totten to the DDA Board for a 4-year term. Yeas: R. Letterman, DiBerardino, D. Trinklein Jr., R. Kiessling, A. Letterman, Herrick, K. Kiessling, Nays: None Absent: None Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

# Miscellaneous:

Motion by R. Kiessling seconded by K. Kiessling to approve adding Annette Letterman as an authorized signer with full authorities as the Township Treasurer to the Birch Run Township Accounts, and to remove Corey Trinklein from those same accounts, effective immediately. Yeas: R. Kiessling, D. Trinklein Jr., DiBerardino, R. Letterman, K. Kiessling, Herrick, A. Letterman, Nays: None Absent: None Motion PASSED by unanimous roll call vote.

Public Comment: 19:57 to 20:00 Public Comment was held.

### Adjournment:

Motion by K. Kiessling seconded by D. Trinklein Jr. to adjourn at 20:00 Motion PASSED by unanimous voice vote.