BIRCH RUN TOWNSHIP BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING DECEMBER 8, 2009

Supervisor Kurt Kiessling called the December Regular Meeting of the Birch Run Township Board to order at 7:00 P.M. Also present for the board were Amy Cook, Clerk; Ed Magnus, Bill Nelson, and Mike Marr, Trustees. Debbie Trevino and Joanne Strahm were absent. Brad Thomas was present for the DPW. Approximately three (3) people were in the audience.

November 10, 2009 Regular Meeting Minutes were discussed.

PASSED Motion by Nelson seconded by Marr to approve the November 10, 2009 Regular Meeting Minutes.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PASSED Motion by Marr seconded by Cook to approve December invoices of \$80,248.27.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PUBLIC COMMENT: 7:02-7:02 pm

TABLED Supervisor Kiessling and Bill Nelson will take the Township Board's concerns back to the Trolley Line Trail Committee.

PASSED Motion by Marr seconded by Magnus to pay back \$4,200 to Eileen Petro for an unused line assessment and tap fee with the money to be taken out of the water fund.

Yeas: Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: Cook

PASSED Motion by Magnus seconded by Marr to approve the final payment of \$33,077.00 to Rhode Brothers for the Canada Road water main extension.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PASSED Motion by Magnus seconded by Marr to authorize the Supervisor to consult with legal counsel and initiate proceedings against the Village of Birch Run and its DDA.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, and Kiessling

Nays: Nelson

TABLED Discussion on the St. Mary's Land Purchase and Burn Ordinance until next month.

PASSED Motion by Magnus seconded by Marr to appoint Jason Sly, Joe Duncan, and Wes Marshall to the Birch Run Township Fire Department.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PASSED Motion by Magnus seconded by Marr to accept Burnham and Flowers quote for the Township Insurance for 2010. The cost will be \$20,982.00 by increasing the Boiler and Machinery Deductible to \$1,000.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PASSED Motion by Marr seconded by Nelson to set Amy Cook as the Insurance Administrator for 2010.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PASSED Motion by Nelson seconded by Cook to hire David Matzke as an emergency Water Department backup at \$9.00/hr.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PASSED Motion by Magnus seconded by Marr to appoint Brenda Weisenberger to the Planning Commission to fill out the term vacated by Wyn Wilson.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PASSED Motion by Magnus seconded by Marr to keep all Board and Commission wages for 2010 the same as 2009.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

The Township Board reviewed the Administrative Resolutions and made amendments as needed.

PASSED Motion by Cook seconded by Nelson to amend AR 02-05 and increase the hourly labor wage for FOIA requests to \$13.00/hr.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PASSED Motion by Marr seconded by Nelson to approve Resolution 2009-11 (Resolution to formally request the Saginaw County Road Commission and the Michigan State Police to Conduct a Speed Study on Downing Road between Dixie Highway and Dehmel Road in Birch Run Michigan).

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PASSED Motion by Marr seconded by Nelson to approve Resolution 2009-12 (Resolution to formally request the Saginaw County Road Commission and the Michigan State Police to Conduct a Speed Study on Eastbound Birch Run Road between Elms Road and the Village Limits of Birch Run Michigan).

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PASSED Motion by Nelson seconded by Marr to approve Resolution 2009-13 (Resolution of Support for keeping the Secretary of State office in Frankenmuth, Michigan).

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

PASSED Motion by Cook seconded by Nelson to adjourn at 8:30 pm.

Yeas: Cook, Magnus, Marr, Kiessling, and Nelson

Nays: None

Amy Cook	
Birch Run Township Clerk	
Approved: January 12, 2009	